paperback writer
theatre theory theatre

Leayne comes up with the best theories in the world, so I will take a moment to expand the last entry to hers and mine and a few others from today...

me:
There is a certain type of personality attracted to theatre, as with most other majors/jobs. This is why politicians all seem to have the same or similar very specific character traits, as with movie stars and computer programmers and the like. The personalities attracted to politics and movies and computer programming all have similar byproducts. Something in us is attracted to this exchange with the masses, that communal experience we were talking about before. Something in us is attracted to that sense of danger or uncertainty Mya went off about that comes with the profession... which leads back to Variety. That point is even a factor because of this specific personality involved... many people don't like variety: they like to know what they're getting. We just happen to have that masochistic element to our personalities...

Leayne:
My cousin plays basketball, and he's obsessed. When you talk to him about it, he can't describe it in any way other than "It's my life. It's my greatest passion.." The passionate emotional thrill he gets from basketball is the same with me and theatre. And I was arguing with my friend who is a trumpet player and an actor about whether or not music people could do theatre. He said of course they could and I said "Nuh uh, because you're just used to copying notes someone else wrote down on a page" and he said "But so are you with a script" and I went "Oooooh yeah..."
It's like language. Whether I'm saying "love" or "amor" I mean the same thing, I'm just expressing it differently. Everyone has their specified language that they are most comfortable with, and theatre is ours.

"Yes absolutely theatre has a language... the question is, what is the grammar?" -Casey

Kelvin:
Along the lines of what Leayne and Brittany were saying... We also want to be surrounded by people that are the same as us. Because theatre is our language, we generally want to stick with the people who speak it. It's easier to surround yourself with people that have similar personality traits to you than those who don't (like Jordan in her Gem 100 class: the only theatre major surrounded by engineering majors)

Leayne (at the very end of class, after we'd been looping in frustrating circle after frustrating circle as Casey asked why after every point we made..):
WHY ASK WHY??? I don't care why sometimes, I just want to be! Can't we just be and be happy with it? We are the way we are that is it. Why do we need to know why?

...but why are we here if not to ask why?

Fuck. Now you know why my brain is going to implode.


The current mood of bratnatch at www.imood.com
FIN. 10:50 a.m., Monday, Nov. 08, 2004

ink :: graphite

flipping pages
prose
fresh
faded
prelude
profile
etcetera
interact
take note
livejournal
credit
diaryland
A work in Aberration.