paperback writer
not the time for vacation details

today is july 29, 2003.

twelve years ago. july 29, 1991. it was raining and my mother sat me down and suggested we watch a movie. i chose all dogs go to heaven.

the next day my mother woke me up and told me that my maw-maw, my father's mother, had passed away in the night.

that's where my father had been. as i watched the little girl saying goodbye to charlie my dad was saying goodbye to his mother.

i remember taking it very well at the time and my mother tells me they had been preparing my five year old mind for months as the cancer progressed.

today i was watching television and my dad asked me if i remembered anything big about today.
i didn't.

maybe i shouldn't feel guilty for not remebering, but it can't really be helped.

she was a great lady. a genius with a paintbrush and an angel in the kitchen, no one has yet been able to manage biscuits as heavenly as when she threw them together, and her rendition of a clown hangs with pride in my parent's bedroom.
she was such a lively, happy person. i don't ever remember her acting anything short of chipper. she was always laughing, even when the chemo had rendered her completely bald and almost immobile. i'm sorry i only have a five year old's perspective of her.

she was a great lady and she deserves to be remembered by all the lives she touched, even the little ones.


The current mood of bratnatch at www.imood.com
FIN. 7:33 p.m., Tuesday, Jul. 29, 2003

ink :: graphite

flipping pages
prose
fresh
faded
prelude
profile
etcetera
interact
take note
livejournal
credit
diaryland
A work in Aberration.